My Boyfriend wants to Learn Tagalog

651961644_Learn_answer_2_xlarge

My boyfriend is English so he really wants to learn my language because he wants to know what I am talking. I tried to teach him some phrases and expressions but I think it’s a little difficult for him and the only expression he knew is “ MAHAL KITA “ and the only word is “ GWAPO “ . I know that he is reading my blog so I guess this my chance to post basic expressions in Tagalog.

 BASIC TAGALOG EXPRESSIONS :

Good Morning. ~~~> ~~~> ~~~> Magandang Umaga [ Ma / gahn / dang / Oo / ma / ga ]

Good Afternoon. ~~~> ~~~> ~~~> Magandang Hapon [ Ma / gahn / dang / Ha / pon ]

Good Evening. ~~~> ~~~> ~~~> Magandang Gabi [ Ma / gahn / dang / Gah / bi ]

How are you? ~~~> ~~~> ~~~> Kamusta ka? [ Kah / mus /ta / kah? ]

I’m fine. ~~~> ~~~> ~~~> Mabuti [ Ma / boo / ti ]

Thank you. ~~~> ~~~> ~~~> Salamat. [ Sa / la / mat ]

You’re welcome. ~~~> ~~~> ~~~> Walang Anuman. [ Wa / lng / Ah / nuh / man ]

What’s your name? ~~> ~~~> ~~~> Anong pangalan mo? [ Ah /nong / pa / nga / lan / moh? ]

I am ( I’m ) __________. ~~> ~~~> ~~~> Ako si __________. [ Ah / koh / see / _________ ]

How old are you? ~~> ~~~> ~~~> Ilang taon ka na? [ E / lang / tah / on / kah / na? ]

Where do you live? ~~> ~~~> ~~~> Saan ka nakatira? [ Sa / an / kah / na/ kah / ti / ra? ]

N0. ~~> ~~~> ~~~> Hindi. [ Hin / de ] informal ~~> ~~~> ~~~> Hindi po. [ Hin / de / po ] formal ( used to elder )

Yes. ~~> ~~~> ~~~> Oo. [ 0 / o ] informal ~~> ~~~> ~~~> Opo. [ O/ poh ] formal ( used to elder )

Take Care. ~~> ~~~> ~~~> Ingat [ Ee / ngat ]

Goodbye. ~~> ~~~> ~~~> Paalam. [ Pa / ah / lam ]

Help! ~~> ~~~> ~~~> Saklolo [ Sahk / lo / lo ] or Tulong [ Too / long ]

Please say it again. / Pardon. ~~> ~~~> ~~~> Pakiulit. [ Pah / kee / oo /lit ]

I don’t know. ~~> ~~~> ~~~> Hindi ko alam. [ Hin / de / koh / ah / lam ]

These are just the phrases that I remember. I hope that it can help my boyfriend to speak Tagalog. Tagalog is the National language of the Philippines. But the Philippines have more 170 languages. Hope these phrases can help others if they want to learn Tagalog.

For me, I want to learn French, Korean and Italian. So, if anyone teaches me some expressions and how to pronounce the words correctly. (Sorry if I am not that good at grammar).

3 thoughts on “My Boyfriend wants to Learn Tagalog

    • Aww.. He told me that he wants to learn because he is curious on what me and my mom or friends are talking. And it’s cute when he is trying to speak in Tagalog the accent is so amazing. Why don’t you try to convince him more to learn our language? Thank you so much. good luck to you and your boyfriend too 🙂 ♥

      Liked by 1 person

      • I tried…but he just kept forgetting the words. I am not very good at Tagalog as well, so I can’t really teach him. I can be very awkward when speaking Tagalog because it is not my first language. My boyfriend is American and sometimes he makes fun of my accent because I grew up with a British English accent. Haha. Well, it’s really funny. Maybe, one day, he will be able to catch more Tagalog words. I am more interested in learning other Philippine languages like Ilocano, so maybe I could force him to learn it as well. But anyway, thank you for your time! xx Diana

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

